Image

Ask a Soccer Referee

News Feed from http://www.askasoccerreferee.com/.

  • THE REFEREE CANNOT REVERSE A DECISION AFTER THE GAME HAS ENDED
    Question: Goal is scored in the closing seconds of the game. Referee sets up with a restart and blows the whistle for the match ending. As a referee exits the field the losing coach complains that that goal was scored after time had run out. The referee confers with this ARs and decide that he […]
  • CALLING OFFSIDE
    Question: Not to reopen a can of worms but I had one question with regard to an offsides infraction. Strictly interpreting law 11, it seems possible that an attacking player can be in an offsides position on the opponents half of the field, and an offsides infraction can occur if he/she receives a pass (across […]
  • BALL DELIBERATELY KICKED TO THE ‘KEEPER; HOLDING FOUL CONTINUED INTO THE PENALTY AREA
    Question: 1) The ball is played back deliberately by a teammate to the keeper in the PA, must (as the law states) the keeper touch the ball with the HANDS or would a touch with the wrist, arm or outside shoulder similarly qualify as an infraction? (2) In playing the ball back deliberately to the […]
  • JACK WARNER ALLEGED TO BE A CROOK–NOT NEWS TO ME
    I have been saying for years that Jack Warner was a crook. Now it would appear that I was right. See this article: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/world-cup/10704290/Qatar-World-Cup-2022-investigation-former-Fifa-vice-president-Jack-Warner-and-family-paid-millions.html
  • MAY A PLAYER KICK THE BALL WITH THE BOTTOM OF THE FOOT?
    Question: Please clarify that kicking the ball for a corner kick it is ok to kick with the bottom of your boot. Answer (March 8, 2014): Yes, the kicker may use the bottom of the foot as long as he has played the ball in a kicking motion. The referee needs to use common sense […]
  • HEADGEAR IN HAND A FOUL?
    Question: In a recent match I had, a female player had her head gear off and in her hands while playing the ball and challenged by an opponent. I stopped the game and gave an indirect free kick to the opposing team for stopping the game, but did not give a caution. Was I correct […]
  • BALL BURSTS AT PENALTY KICK
    Question: What happens if the ball bursts after being kicked and made contact with during a penalty kick? Answer (March 6, 2014): Your answer is contained in Law 2 (THE BALL) of the current Laws of the Game: Replacement of a defective ball If the ball bursts or becomes defective during the course of a […]
  • PRO AND MLS (PSRA) REFEREES FAR APART ON COMPENSATION FOR 2014
    http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/soccer-insider/wp/2014/02/11/as-mls-season-nears-referee-negotiations-are-some-distance-apart/
  • ADJUSTING TO THE MODERN GAME: WHEN IS THE BALL IN PLAY FROM A FREE KICK?
    Question: I have been trying to get an answer regarding the taking of an indirect free kick. One source has an answer on its site which contradicts the answer I found on the US Soccer site. My thought is if the ball needs to be kicked and move, that this should happen on the initial […]
  • LAST DAY OF INTERACTION FOR THIS SITE
    As announced two weeks ago, the site will be closing down as an interactive entity as of close of business today (9 PM U.S. Eastern Standard Time).It has been a great ride, but now it is time to shut it down, at least in the interactive sense. We will likely post some updates and some […]
  • More...