• THROWING BALL IN OFF OPPONENT’S BACK
    Question: Player takes a throw-in, throws ball at opponent (not hard or violent) bounces off opponent, throw takes possession of ball. This was happening all game and I think thrower was intentionally doing hit. Can you help me? Answer (September17, 2014): This tactic, if performed as you describe it, is perfectly legal. U. S. Soccer’s […]
  • UNDERSTANDING WHAT THE IFAB SAYS ABOUT HEADWEAR
    Question: An instructor asks: Before we start teaching the recert clinics this year, I want to make sure I understand the change in Law 4. Am I to interpret “head cover” as meaning any type of hat (or other head covering) that the referee deems safe? I just want to make sure that it is […]
  • SYSTEMS OF OFFICIATING OUTDOOR SOCCER GAMES
    Question: In USSF if a second AR is not present for the game how should we proceed with the game and should we collect all the money or only the money for the center and AR1? Answer (September 6, 2014): This answer is based on USSF historical documents and the Laws of the Game. The […]
  • TOUCH
    Question: Why is the touchline so named? What is the origin of “touch” and “in touch”? Answer (September 5, 2014): “Touch” is any area outside the boundaries of the field, particularly the lines that run between the corners across the halfway line to the corner at the far end of the field. It is the […]
  • REFEREE CANNOT CHANGE A DECISION ONCE THE MATCH HAS BEEN ENDED
    Question: My 15 yr. old son was involved in a physical altercation during a soccer game with 5 seconds left in the game. The altercation involved 2 of our players and 3 players from the opposing team. One of our players and one of the opposing players were each given a red card and ejected […]
  • RESTART FOR MISCONDUCT
    Question: While team A is attacking, the ref blows his whistle and shows a yellow card to a player on team B. The infraction is loud dissent over a call made 5 minutes prior. When the ref whistled for play to stop, the cautioned player was 40 yards from the ball, and farther from the […]
  • PARRY OR NO PARRY, THAT IS THE QUESTION
    Question: I explain to my new/young referees that catching and parrying are deliberate actions by the keeper using his hands to control the ball and both imply control of the ball by the keeper. The flip-side is punching, slapping or pushing the ball to keep it out of the goal which is not controlling the […]
  • FEINT? INJURY? CLEARLY DONE TO DECEIVE?
    Question: The referee allowed this to stand. Should he have done so? If so, why? If not, why not? Answer (June 4, 2014): I was asked this question twice and answered the first one from the Laws, based on how the referee perceived the incident. INTERPRETATION OF THE LAWS OF THE GAME AND GUIDELINES FOR […]
  • OFFSIDE OR NOT OFFSIDE?
    Question: RE:SPAIN’S WINNING GOAL WAS _NOT_ OFFSIDE, June 20, 2012 I was the AR in a game yesterday with a similar situation to the game referenced above. The difference was that the player in the offside position broke toward the goal and ran ahead of the ball until he pulled up in front of the […]
  • ADVANTAGE
    Question: From what I can see, the Advice to Referees has changed in its wording on 5.6 (Advantage). It now appears that advantage may be applied and indicated by the referee when not just Law 12 is violated, but various Laws. However, there is a bullet that “not all violations of the Law qualify for […]
  • More...